Fabio Fognini, Diego Schwartzman and Kei Nishikori headline the field in KitzbĆ¼hel, Austria, as the Generali Open kicks off the 2020 European clay-court swing.Ā Following the Generali Open, the clay swing is set to continue with the Internazionali BNL d’Italia in Rome, followed by the Hamburg European Open and Roland Garros.Ā 

While Schwartzman comes to KitzbĆ¼hel from New York, where he lost a five-setter against Cameron Norrie in the first round of the US Open, Fognini and Nishikori make their first appearances since the ATP Tour was suspended due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Fognini achieved his best result this season at the Australian Open, where he reached the fourth round.Ā Nishikori will be competing in his first tournament since the 2019 US Open, after undergoing right elbow surgery last October.

The ATP 250 tennis tournament will also feature Dusan Lajovic, Nikoloz Basilashvili, Hubert Hurkacz and Guido Pella, as well as Yoshihito Nishioka, who held one match point in his match against Andy Murray at the US Open.

Here’s all you need to know about the KitzbĆ¼hel tennis tournament: what is the schedule, where to watch, who has won and more.Ā 

You May Also Like:

Nishikori Eyes First Event In 12 Months In KitzbĆ¼hel

Established: 1895

Tournament Dates: 8-13 September 2020

Tournament Director: Alex Antonitsch

Draw Ceremony: Monday, 7 September

Are You In? Subscribe To Get Tournament Updates In Your Inbox

ScheduleĀ (View On Official Website)
* Qualifying: Monday and Tuesday at 10:00am
* Main draw: Tuesday – Saturday at 10:30am
* Doubles final: Sunday, 13 September at 12:00pm
* Singles final: Saturday, 13 September at 3:00pm

How To Watch
Watch Live On Tennis TVĀ 
TV Schedule

Venue: KitzbĆ¼hel Tennis Club

Prize Money: ā‚¬336,680 (Total Financial Commitment: ā‚¬400,335)Ā 

View Who Is Playing, Past Champions, Seeds, Points & Prize Money Breakdown

Honour Roll (Open Era)
Most Titles, Singles: Guillermo Vilas (4)
Most Titles, Doubles: Emilio Sanchez (5)
Oldest Champion: Paolo Lorenzi, 34, in 2016
Youngest Champion: Juan Martin del Potro, 19, in 2008
Lowest-Ranked Champion (since 1979): No. 191 Horacio De La Pena in 1990
Most Match Wins (since 1972): Emilio Sanchez (33)

2019 Finals
Singles: [1] Dominic Thiem (AUT) d Albert Ramos-Vinolas (ESP) 76(0) 61Ā  Ā Read & Watch
Doubles: [2] Philipp Oswald (AUT) / Filip Polasek (SVK) d [4] Sander Gille (BEL) / Joran Vliegen (BEL) 64 64Ā Ā Read More

Hashtag: #atpkitz

Facebook: @generaliopen
Instagram: @generaliopen

Did You Know…Ā In 2019, Dominic Thiem ended the home crowd’s 26-year wait for an Austrian champion since 1993 winner Thomas Muster.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments