Rafael Nadal returns to Roland Garros with a chance to equal Roger Federer’s record of 20 Grand Slam titles. Nadal is a 12-time champion at the clay-court major and boasts a 93-2 tournament record, starting with his title run on his 2005 debut as a teenager.  

Novak Djokovic and Dominic Thiem will lead the challengers, and enter Paris riding winning streaks. World No. 1 Djokovic, who won Roland Garros in 2016 with victory over Andy Murray in the final, claimed a record-breaking 36th ATP Masters 1000 crown on Monday at the Internazionali BNL d’Italia (d. Schwartzman). The Serbian took his Grand Slam title haul to 17 with his triumph earlier this year at the Australian Open.

Thiem will look to go one better at Roland Garros, after finishing runner-up to Nadal the past two years. The Austrian celebrated his first Grand Slam title earlier this month when he came from two sets down to defeat Alexander Zverev in the US Open final.

The 2020 Roland Garros field is also set to feature Top 10 players Daniil Medvedev, Stefanos Tsitsipas, Zverev, Matteo Berrettini, Gael Monfils and Denis Shapovalov. 

Here’s all you need to know about Roland Garros: when is the draw, what is the schedule, where to watch, who has won and more.  

You May Also Like:

Better By The Dozen: Relive Rafa’s Reign In Paris

Established: 1891

Tournament Dates: 27 September – 11 October 2020

Tournament Director: Guy Forget

Draw Ceremony: Thursday, 24 September at 6:00pm

Schedule (View On Official Website)
* Qualifying: Monday, 21 September – Friday, 25 September
* Main draw: Daily play begins at 11:00am from Sunday, 27 September
* Doubles final: Saturday, 10 October
* Singles final: Sunday, 11 October at 3:00pm

How To Watch
View TV Schedule

Venue: Stade Roland Garros

Prize Money: €18,209,040 (2020 Prize Money Distribution)

Tickets On Sale: Buy Now

View Who Is Playing, Past Champions, Seeds

Honour Roll (Open Era)
Most Titles, Singles: Rafael Nadal (12)
Most Titles, Doubles: Max Mirnyi, Daniel Nestor (4)
Oldest Champion: Andres Gimeno, 34, in 1972
Youngest Champion: Michael Chang, 17, in 1989
Lowest-Ranked Champion (since 1979): No. 66 Gustavo Kuerten in 1997
Most Match Wins: Rafael Nadal (93)

2019 Finals
Singles: [1] Rafael Nadal (ESP) d [4] Dominic Thiem 63 57 61 61   Read & Watch
Doubles: Kevin Krawietz / Andreas Mies d Jeremy Chardy / Fabrice Martin 62 76(3)  Read More

Hashtag: #RolandGarros
Facebook: @RolandGarros
Twitter: @rolandgarros
Instagram: @rolandgarros

Did You Know… Roland Garros was the first Grand Slam tournament to join the “Open” era in 1968, and since then many tennis greats have graced the famous clay courts, including Bjorn Borg, Ivan Lendl, Mats Wilander, Gustavo Kuerten, Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic. In 1983, Yannick Noah became the first, and so far only, Frenchman to win the singles title. 

What’s your Reaction?
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments